The Incompetence of Stellar Management

So I live in an apartment building in New York City which is owned by a management company named Stellar Management (to avoid confusion this is Stellar Management of 156 William Street).  Note that a management company has a very similar relationship with a tenant as a Landlord would.  A landlord is oftentimes also the property manager/supervisor and responsible for making repairs to the building and residences, however the management company employs someone in this capacity.  Stellar Management is owned by one of its founders Laurence Gluck (some background here).

Anyways, getting back to the point, stellar management, totally incompetent, and unresponsive.  I have been living in my current apartment for nearly 2 years now, and renewed my lease at the end of a one year term.  Stellar management increased rent at that point in time and also requested additional security deposit.  I sent the security deposit in the mail, however I received a call a while later stating it had never been received (note this is possibly the only time stellar management initiated communication).  I figured it had been lost in the mail and just put another check in the mail.  I looked at my bank account a while later to see that the replacement check had been deposited… Along with the original.

I was not a happy camper at this point in time, as I was essentially scammed, either through malice or incompetence.  I immediately called stellar management, however none of the people associated with my building were answering their phones, so I left messages on every machine, and waited for a return phone call.  A few days passed, so I called again, and left messages again.  I shuffled through some paperwork I had and found e-mail addresses associated with some of the people at stellar who work with my building.  I e-mailed detailing the problem, and got responses saying that I needed to contact so and so at another e-mail address.  So I sent the same e-mail to the new address.  The same thing followed, until I had accumulated 5 email addresses.  However, no response was forthcoming.  I continued to call, leave messages and email.  Eventually I elicited a response, from person a, saying it would be fixed by tomorrow.  I waited a week or so and sent the email again, eliciting another response from person B, saying person A had fixed the problem.  I of course responded that “tomorrow” was a week ago, and I had not been told that the problem was fixed.  I received a response a few days later saying that the problem was fixed, however I am disinclined to believe this until I see a bill zeroed out, and even then I will worry it will reappear at a later time (as happened before).

Finally I needed to contact stellar management to discuss my move out date with them.  I intend to sign a lease starting august 1, and my current lease ends 7/31, one might think that this would work out beautifully.  However my prior experiences with stellar lead me to believe otherwise.  I have been attempting to contact them for a week now to discuss, however I have only reached a human being on the phone once, and the resolution of the phone call was that they would send an email to the same person who I had both sent and e-mail and left a phone message for.

Finally, not personal experience, but it’s worth noting that stellar management has defaulted on $250 million in loans as reported Here.

A very unfortunate story showing the business practices of Stellar Management here.

One Response to “The Incompetence of Stellar Management”

  1. david cox Says:

    Hi,

    I am having trouble with Stellar too. They are redoing a big building on WEA and I discovered my windsheald borken parked under the scafolding infornt of their building at 666 West End at 92 St. I am going to report them to every city agency involved with licensing construction. I do not know what else to do they are unresponsive. Thanks for your info above.

    David Cox


Leave a Reply

