Folding at Home

So I’ve recently been trying to set up folding at home. Actually on two different machines and I haven’t been terribly successful. The first machine is a very fast quad core machine living at my parent’s house. I had previously overclocked the q9550 to 3.7 or so GHz. I ended up getting some computation errors, which I believe are due to the degree of the overclock. I don’t have physical access to the machine so I have to wait a bit before someone can back it off for me. The second machine is a machine at my office, and I have actually been having troubles getting it to successfully connect to the collection server to turn in completed work units. I have attempted to set up a proxy and hopefully that solves that problem. But I still haven’t seen if it will work.

System 1: q9550 @ 3.655 GHz, problem is mistakes in computation, plan is to slow down the clock speed by 5% or so to 3.485 GHz, and I’ll see how that settles it.
System 2: E7200 @ 2.53GHz, problem is firewall, we’ll see if the proxy helps matters any

I would love to try building a machine that could collect more than 10k ppd. After looking into the issue a bit it appears that an i7 based machine is only marginally more expensive than a core2quad based machine. So I would of course be leaning that way. Though I think I could give the components some time to decrease in price. Also it seems the sweet spot for a gpu folding is the $100 mark. Of course the $500 cards could fold better, but I’d never consider spending that much on just folding, since I’m not much of a gamer. The plan would be an i7 and then two 9800 GT cards, aiming to balance the somewhat competing goals of cost, speed (points per day), and energy consumption.

Posted in Tech. Tags: , . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

