Doughnuts

And I think that word should be spelled dough-nuts, not do-nuts. What’s a donut? A doughnut is a little bit of fried dough.

Anyways I tried this recipe:
Ingredients
* 2 tablespoons white vinegar
* 1/2 cup milk (original recipe calls for 3/8)
* 2 tablespoons shortening
* 1/2 cup white sugar
* 1 egg
* 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (I always use more vanilla than is stated in recipes. It’s so delicious)
* 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
* 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/4 teaspoon salt
* 1 quart oil for deep frying
* 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar for dusting (I tried both cinnamon sugar and powdered sugar, I found the former gave better results, but to each their own)

Directions
1. Stir the vinegar into the milk, and let stand for a few minutes until thick.
2. In a medium bowl, cream together the shortening and sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg and vanilla until well blended. Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the sugar mixture alternating with the vinegar and milk. Roll dough out on a floured surface to 1/3 inch thickness. Cut into doughnuts using a donut cutter. Let stand for about 10 minutes.
3. Heat the oil in a large deep skillet to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Fry doughnuts in the hot oil until golden, turning over once. Drain on paper towels. Dust with confectioners’ sugar while they are still warm, and serve immediately.

And I made drop doughnuts. Or I got a spoon and just dropped lumps of the dough into the oil. The issue that I ran into was that the doughnuts weren’t cooking through. I’m not quite sure how to fix this, it’s possible that I needed to cook longer on lower heat, or maybe shorter on higher heat? My thought is the first, but I’m not sure. I suppose making the lumps of dough smaller would also work, but I’m trying to replicate these amazing ones that I used to get at summer camp. So experimenting will continue.

Leave a Reply

