Geotagging without a dedicated camera gps

A work in progress, detailing how to use a 3rd party gps unit not intended for use in getotagging in geotagging (read it again, it makes sense), using only free tools.

1) convert whatever gps file format you have to a gpx file format. For me it’s a garmin.
gpsbabel -t -i garmin -f usb: -o gpx -F tracklog.gpx

2) use the gpx file to tag all the photos. I’m not sure about the timeadd thing. Has to do with time zone. I think it’s possible that I can get away without it. Anyways I’ll have to try. There’s also a clever gui (which I haven’t yet looked at) for gpscorrelate, which might add in figuring out what’s going on with timezones.
gpscorrelate –gps tracklog.gpx –timeadd -5 *.jpg

It’s worth reading what this character has to say about the topic.

One Response to “Geotagging without a dedicated camera gps”

  1. Joseph Says:

    I’m having some issues with the garmin .fit to .gpx conversion. I haven’t looked into it too much, but apparently garmin meant one of the driving types.


Leave a Reply

