Accessing Journals from outside your Institution’s Network

I had been using the proxy for my university, which allows you to submit a link to get a proxied url, but I noticed in the status bar that it was really just adding a .ezproxy.stuff.morestuff.evenmorestuff to the url, and thought there might be a better way of doing this. A little googling found I wasn’t the first person to think about this. I found a few solutions, but the most elegant by far is to use greasemonkey to rewrite urls. I didn’t investigate the source of this addon too much, but it seems to work for me. And without going through the “this article is a bazillion dollars”, back button, submit url, get article for free dance.

Here’s the greasemonkey script: http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/42011

Leave a Reply

